Logo icon

Independent Pilot

SeriesFest’s Independent Pilot Competition provides a platform for the most innovative drama, comedy, unscripted and animated pilots out there ranging from 18 to 60 minutes. Independent Pilots are in competition for jury and audience awards.

Key Dates and Fees

  Earlybird Deadline
Dec 18, 2020
Regular Deadline
Jan 22, 2021
Late Deadline
Feb 26, 2021
Standard $50 $70 $90
FilmFreeway Gold Member $40 $55 $75
Student $30 $35 $50
Fees are paid through the submission process.

Entry Materials

Produced Pilot

Submitted via FilmFreeway's Secure Online Screener system. All entries must be between 18 and 60 minutes in length.

Entry Fee

See fee schedule above for details.

Series Format Deck

All submissions must also include a Series Format Deck to be uploaded to the application page under “Files & Attachments." 

An effective Series Format Deck introduces your project in a visually exciting and emotionally powerful way. It captures the reader’s imagination, allowing them to see the full scope of the series and embrace the characters.

The Series Format Deck should be no longer than 15 pages and include the following:

  • Log Line
  • Pilot Synopsis
  • Season One Outline
  • Main Character Descriptions (Up to 5)
  • Tone of your series (can include no more than 2 comps)
  • Producing Team
  • Key Creatives
  • Goals for your Series
  • A Creator Statement which includes Why This Idea, Why Me, and Why Now?


Press Kit Material

Any available press kit material.

Please note, entry materials will not be returned.

Need more info?

View Submission FAQs



Email Seriesfest

Season 6 Winners  
Independent Pilot

Story of You


Everyone Together


Racist Trees


Season 6 Judges

Adam Shapiro


Allie Waserman

Manager, Original Programming, HBO

Ben Travers

Deputy Editor and TV Critic, IndieWire

Dade Hayes

Business Editor, Deadline

Evan Scott Shapiro

President, National Lampoon

Garrett Martin

Senior Editor, Paste Magazine

Isabel San Vargas

President, Production and Operations, Propagate Content

Jackie Sosa

VP of Development, Chelsea Handler Productions

Michael Callas

Creative Executive, Fuqua Films

Riva Marker

President, NineStories Productions

Katie Lowes


Susan Lewis

SVP, Original Programming, Starz

Tamir Muhammad

CEO, Populace Productions

Andy Singer

EVP, TV & Digital Content, Alkemy X

Lynn Sadofsky

SVP, Programming and Development, Food Network

Ryan Harrington

VP, Documentary Films, National Geographic

Katie Neff

SVP, Development, High Noon Entertainment