Logo icon

Late Night

Sometimes series just don’t fit into the drama, comedy or unscripted categories. SeriesFest’s Late Night Competition is designed to discover and honor those strange, absurd, comedic or sketch series that often leave us scratching our heads, laughing through tears, a little bit scared and wondering “what the hell did I just watch?” Going into its fifth year, the Late Night Competition provides episodic creators with an opportunity to screen their offbeat, live action or animated series on the big screen at SeriesFest: Season 9 (can run as a miniseries or extended seasons with a total runtime of 4-15 minutes).


Submissions for SeriesFest: Season 9 open on September 8th. Please carefully review the deadlines, material requirements and guidelines listed below and on our FilmFreeway page. Fill out your applications and get your projects end before the final deadline. Got questions? Check out our Submission FAQs or email us at info@seriesfest.com.


Once submissions are closed, our team of experienced producers, writers, programmers and filmmakers carefully reviews each application and pilot to narrow it down to a curated group of selections that fit the niche category of Late Night. Official Selections to be screened at SeriesFest: Season 9. Official Selections are determined on the basis of the following elements:

  • Originality and creativity
  • Overall quality of all elements & aspects of the production of each entry, including, without limitation, writing, acting, directing, editing, etc.
  • Adherence to and appropriateness for a particular format or type of program 
  • The ability to develop story through a first season and thorough drafting of the arc.


Official Selections are up for the following awards: 

  • Best of Late Night Award

Winners will be determined by a jury of high-profile industry and talent during the annual festival and recognized with an award at our Awards Ceremony, included in our media announcement and showcased on our website. Past jurors include Betsy Sodaro, Danielle Kreinik (Ubisoft), Laura Prudom (IGN), Laura Schwartz (Newform Entertainment). Scroll down to see the complete list of last year’s jurors and winners. Pilots in this competition are also eligible for the Level Forward Impact Award

Powered by Froala Editor

Key Dates and Fees

  Earlybird Deadline
Nov 17, 2022
Regular Deadline
Jan 06, 2023
Final Deadline
Feb 15, 2023
Standard $50 $70 $100
FilmFreeway Gold Member $40 $55 $85
Student $30 $35 $45
Fees are paid through the submission process.

Entry Materials

Produced Pilot

Submitted via FilmFreeway’s Secure Online Screener system. Submissions should not exceed 30 minutes of total runtime and can be given in episodes of any length and completed production no earlier than December 2020.

Series Format Deck

All submissions must also include a Series Format Deck to be uploaded to the application page under “Files & Attachments." 

An effective Series Format Deck introduces your project in a visually exciting and emotionally powerful way. It captures the reader’s imagination, allowing them to see the full scope of the series and embrace the characters.

The Series Format Deck should be no longer than 15 pages and include the following:

  • Log Line
  • Pilot Synopsis
  • Season One Outline
  • Main Character Descriptions (Up to 5)
  • Tone of your series (can include no more than 2 comps)
  • Producing Team
  • Key Creatives
  • Goals for your Series
  • A Creator Statement which includes Why This Idea, Why Me, and Why Now?

Entry Fee

See fee schedule above for details.

Press Kit Material

Any available press kit material. 

Please note, entry materials will not be returned.

Need more info?

View Submission FAQs



Email Seriesfest

Season 8 Winners  
Late Night

Olympus: A Retrospective


Syd & Mike


Season 8 Judges

Steve Greene

Associate TV Editor, Indiewire

Tara Westwood

Actor, Director

David Griffin

TV Editor, IGN